Major and Minor Components

While I was developing the NewHabits-NewGoals pilot offered in January, I realized that there was a difference between what I called the major components and the minor ones. In this way, the 11 components can be neatly split into 2 groups for easier explanation.

The difference is easy to understand.

The Major components are Capturing, Emptying, Tossing, Acting Now, Storing, Scheduling and Listing. The Minor components are Interrupting, Switching, Warning and Reviewing.

The Major components are the ones that preoccupy users who find themselves at the lower belt levels. Their time is spent mostly in mastering the practices and habits in those components.

The Minor components naturally become more of a concern at higher belt levels, when users have gained a certain level of proficiency in the Major components.

Of course, this rule is not hard and fast, but only an observation that I turned into a teaching tool to help students concentrate their energies in the right place.


2 Responses to “Major and Minor Components”

  1. successmakingmachine Says:

    I have a suggestion. Instead of calling it the “minor compontents” call it the level 2 components (major is level 1). minor makes them sound not important.

  2. fwade Says:

    I think that’s a great idea — Levels 1 and 2.

    Thanks SO much.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: